Saliva Lucasque

It’s an amazing feeling to wake up one morning to hear that one of the men who played a large part in shaping your childhood is soon to retire from the business and put movie-making to bed, in favor of a quieter life.  It’s another thing to hear that he’s doing it because he thinks you’re an asshole.  Well, that’s precisely what we heard from George Lucas in his most recent New York Times interview.

George Lucas, who produced many of the largest nerd blockbusters in history, and then went back to change them all for no good reason, is angry at the audience who disapproved of this changes so much, he had the following to say to all of us:

“I’m moving away from the business, from the company, from all this kind of stuff.  Why would I make any more, when everybody yells at you all the time and says what a terrible person you are?  I’m saying: ‘Fine. But my movie, with my name on it, that says I did it, needs to be the way I want it.'”

I’m not going to get into the discussion about whether Lucas’ films are really Lucas’ films, or whether or not they belong to all of as, as we’re the ones who are responsible for the major – Star Wars – grossing billions of dollars world wide.  But I will say this: Han shot first; Jar Jar was ridiculously annoying; and the end of Return of the Jedi where Vader was replaced by a younger Skywalker absolutely made me sick.

Perhaps comments such as these are the reason he’s getting away from the business.  Well, that’s probably for the better.  And maybe someday we’ll be able to watch the original Star Wars trilogy on Blu-Ray without all of the tinkering – the way they were first intended to be seen.  And given the shortcomings of the prequels, as well as the new Indiana Jones movie, perhaps we all would be in a better place should George Lucas stop making (or remaking) movies altogether.

I won’t say he won’t be missed, but I will say that any true artist’s response to poor feedback wouldn’t be to quit, but would be to make things right.  The only copies of the original Star Wars trilogy I own are on VHS, and it’ll stay that way until someone, Lucas or not, decides to make it right and re-release the original content the way it was originally seen.

I leave you with this:

2 comments on “Saliva Lucasque

  1. There is no room for George Lucas in a George Lucas production. I bet the new Indiana Jones script was absolutely solid until Lucas made his changes to it. Or is it possible he handed the script over to Dan Ayckroid for editing? HAHAHA!

Leave a Reply

