Some Things I Need to Get Off my Chest

I noticed today that I’ve been remiss.  Happy belated birthday to both Mr. Leonard Nimoy, and to Dr. Richard Dawkins.  Two great men sharing a birthday, and I still didn’t send my wishes.

To James Cameron: No.  Please no.  No Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie for you.  No.  Naughty.  Look, the first one was fine by itself.  It didn’t even need the two sequels.  They were made, however, and they weren’t half bad.  Does it need to be rebooted in another live action format?  No.  Absolutely not.  This is James Cameron we’re talking about here.  If he had just quit after Meet the Feebles, everything would be great in my world.  Great movie and far more up James Cameron’s talent range.

Congratulations again to The Hunger Games for continuing to smash box office records, and for putting the Twilight “saga” in its place.

As many of you may already know, Mr. Leonard Nimoy will be guest starring in this week’s episode of The Big Bang Theory.  I absolutely cannot wait.  Look, I know the nerd/geek community is a little split on the show, because many people think the show makes fun of nerd culture.  I think just the opposite, actually.  Just judging some – not all, but some – of the people I’ve met over the years, The Big Bang Theory actually makes nerd culture look pretty good, and in many cases, much better than it really is.  I’ll be looking forward to it all week, and I hope you tune in.

The Mary Sue posted a really great piece this week about fake geeks, namely fake geek girls, that I found to be a very fun read.  You can check it out here.  My criticisms of fake nerds and fake geeks have led to a lot of rants either online or in private among friends, and I’m glad to see other people pointing it out.  Yes, nerdy girls are not, but it’s also become trendy, so tread with caution.

That’s it, really.  A pointless update, but sometimes you must do that to maintain sanity.  Otherwise, I just find myself listening to Rush Limbaugh and feeling compelled to smash whatever is in my hand, pretending it’s his head. Giggles!

Leave a Reply

