The Avengers: Properly Assembled

A more detailed review will be coming soon, I promise.  However, Nicole and I have just returned from the premier of The Avengers, and I honestly don’t have one single bad thing to say about it.  Joss Whedon outdid himself, just as I predicted he would – search through the past blogs for proof of this.

In short:

Joss Whedon managed to make a movie that has had four years worth of theatrical setup, worth four years of theatrical setup. The writing was flawless, the directing was flawless, the production was flawless, the cinematography was flawless. The action was just as over-the-top as it should have been, and I can’t tell you how many times I laughed myself to tears over the humor, even though he managed to make it funny but not corny. Three words: Thank you, Joss!

The humor was the main draw.  As I said, the movie wasn’t corny one bit, but Whedon still managed to make it a series of almost nonstop laughter.  Everything from smarter humor to slapstick was included.  I won’t spoil anything, but I will say that Hulk VS Loki was the greatest thing I’ve seen in a movie in quite a long time, if not ever.

Also, I would like to add that the casting choice in Mark Ruffalo as Bruce Banner was the best decision that could have been made as a replacement for Edward Norton.  Honestly, I would suggest erasing the Edward Norton Hulk movie from history, and starting over with a new Hulk story with Ruffalo.  Maybe even a remake of the Norton Hulk movie with Ruffalo and a better actress in the female role would be something I’d watch.  Well, so long as Whedon wrote that as well.

So, congratulations to Joss Whedon for two monster hits in one year, with both Cabin in the Woods and The Avengers.  And Marvel/Disney, you do realize that we won’t settle for anything less than the standard that was set by Joss in what I immediately called the perfect all-around movie as soon as we walked out of the theater.

One comment on “The Avengers: Properly Assembled

  1. Pingback: Hulk-Smashing Records for Marvel’s The Avengers « Nerd Monkey

Leave a Reply

